hair-salon-reviews-denver

Our 5-Star Denver Hair Salon Reviews

Over 200 hair salon reviews have been left by our excited clients on our Yelp, Google+, and Facebook pages, and others online. Some of those reviews from those pages are below.  Please read through them and feel free to contact us with any hair or availability questions.
We are here for you!

Prices & Online
Reservations

Andrea Porter, is the best hairstylist I have ever been too; I have searched long and hard to find a stylist like Andrea, and thank god I did! Every time I walk out of the salon I leave with amazing hair, that I exactly asked for. She is amazing ombre’s and color in general and cuts as well. She is the only person I let touch my hair. She is an amazing stylist and highly recommend her! Book an apt with her, you won’t regret it!

– Sarah B.

I am always nervous when I have a new person do my hair. HOWEVER, Andrea did an amazing job!!! She was very good at letting me know what exactly she was doing, what products she was using, and she was very friendly. But most importantly, she listened to exactly what I wanted…and she delivered!! I will definitely be going back to her! She is truly amazing!!!

– Dianna G.

Andrea is your girl!! I love Andrea! She has been doing my hair for awhile now and I would not go anywhere else. I travel 34 miles plus to see her! I have changed my color a lot over the last year from fashion colors to brown and blonde. I HIGHLY recommend her. She makes you forget that you are waiting for your color to set. She is super personable and so much fun to talk to while you get your hair done. I always love the end result! I love her so much, I have my mom getting her hair done with Andrea. If you want some great style, color and conversation, she is definitely the girl you want to see!!

– Rikki H.

My hair was looking dull and boring so I went to Do the Bang Thing. The atmosphere was inviting and friendly. Everyone that worked there was nice. My appointment was with Erica. She was awesome! Very fun and helpful. And she made my hair look amazing with beautiful colors and a trim!

– Kelsey L.

My first time here was a great experience! I dont do my hair often but, when I do im very sceptical…let me tell you Amanda killed it! She listened and customized a color and cut perfect for my hair and how i wear it daily. She even took the estra time to teach me a few new easy ways to style my hair. Highly reccomend going to Do the Bang Thing.

– Samantha M.

I have been doing my hair purple for over 5 years. When I moved to Denver a year ago I was nervous that I wouldn’t find an amazing hairstylist. Boy was I wrong! Amanda is the best stylist I’ve never had. I walk in there and I know I will always walk out looking fly! My mom for the first time (IN 5 YEARS OF DOING FUN COLORED HAIR) said she loved my cut and color! I highly recommend this place! It is heaven!

– Nicole F.

Elisa is amazing! She did my hair and makeup for my wedding. Her assistant couldn’t make it the day of the wedding and being the professional she is, she managed to find a great assistant and me and my bridesmaids looked amazing. She has been coloring and styling my hair ever since!

– Amy D.

Elisa is absolutely amazing!!! She has done amazing things with my hair while keeping it so healthy! She knows her hair and products! Amazing lady all around.

– Leah G.

Sophie was my hairdresser in Houston. I know I can count on her to give me a trendy, or up to date cut, with an amazing blowout , or style that I desire. She is quick with updos, and braids . Her color skills are great. I like that she is open for my ideas, and incorporates hers. I am always pleased with the end result. I refer all of my friends that go to Colorado, to go see Sophie. I would refer anyone else who Is looking to have a great salon experience, to her.

– Maritza T.

I LOVE Elisa Rodriguez!! She is such a phenomenal hair and make-up artist. It is because of her that I looked on point on my wedding day. There were so many times that she turned my drab thick hair into hotness!! Thanks Elisa, and Congratulations Denver!

– Maria K.

Best haircut I have had in years and really a nice person, I will return in 3 weeks.

– Joan P.

I got my highlight, root touch up, cut and blow & style last night with Sophie. This morning I woke up and when I looked at the mirror, I can’t believe my hair look amazing! This is never happen before! Usually I woke up with flat hair or half flat hair. 


It’s not easy to find a good hairstylist for Asian hair in Denver, for this reason I’ve been avoiding hair salon for almost six month, but now I desperately need a haircut and highlight. So when I found this Salon on Yelp and Sophie on their website, I don’t have a high expectations. After she finished doing my hair, I love the results, but I keep thinking just wait for another 1 hour, usually my hair will look flat & ugly again. But until bedtime, my hair still look good, and now it even looks amazing in the morning! 

Thank you Sophie, to me you’re a Godsent!

– Penty D.

Went in for a cut and retouch on my ombre hairdo last week and was pleasantly surprised. The salon itself is very cute and clean and stylishly decorated, especially the owner’s dog Hera, a giant Great Dane who was sporting some interesting neon swatches of color on her head and tail. It wasn’t too busy at 2pm on a weekday afternoon, but when I was finishing up around 4:30, more customers were flocking in.

Sit back with a glass of water (I’m lame and didn’t see that they offered wine) while your stylist works her magic. I lucked out and got Sophie, a cool lady who has an impressive knowledge of ’90s hits and is one of those rare people who can sing along to music in public without being annoying. We bonded over having Korean mamas while she slapped a paintbrush on my locks. I liked that she was able to maintain the perfect balance between chatty and focused, explaining what she was doing without bogging me down in detail. She also convinced me not to chop off a huge portion of hair, which I am extremely grateful for now as I would like to keep the long look indefinitely.

She finished out the cut with some awesome curls, which I had to struggle not to wash on Day 2 – they looked relaxed and wavy as a result.

I highly recommend this place! Book online through their website; there are pretty detailed explanations of all of the services they offer.

– Joan P.

Amanda is Amazing! My color is perfect every time! I would highly recommend her to anyone- irregardless of how crazy (mermaid color) or conservative (that would be me!).

– Stephanie L.

I go see Amanda and have taken my daughter and wife to see her as well, by far one of the best barber/ stylist in Denver. She does great color work on my Wife’s hair, is very great with my timid 8 year old and keeps my hair looking fresh, and helps keep my beard game strong. The shop is clean and inviting and just a great business all around! Would definitely recommend and come back.

– Jesse E.

You want someone who really cares about the quality of your hair! Go see Amanda Wood! She is the color and cut queen of Colorado! I absolutely adore her! Her fun loving attitude makes you want to automatically come she her again, and then you see the masterpiece she has put on top your head and its a done deal! You have a hair stylist for LIFE! 🙂 🙂 🙂

– Brittany M.

I started going to Toby a couple of years ago because a friend recommended her. She does an amazing job. I have very dark curly hair and she always gets it the perfect color of blonde! It’s never brassy and I always get a million compliments…I moved done to the Springs and still continue to drive up because she’s amazing!

– Jess C.

When I tried out for the Houston Texans Cheerleaders, I needed a big beautiful blowout to stand out. So I went to Sophie, and that’s exactly what I got. It lasted through all the hair whipping and turns and I even got complements on my hair all night. Unfortunately, she’s no longer in Houston. Colorado is lucky to have a great stylist like Sophie in their hands!!

– Ashley D.

As my first haircut in years, and also being new in the area, this is a great find. Loved my first experience with Amanda. She is warm and inviting. Also she is great at doing hair, really listened to my ideas and found the perfect medium. She gave great recommendations on the product at the salon. My next visit will be soon for coloring. I would recommend this hair salon to anyone. Please try it out, you will be satisfied with your experience.

– Ayesha Khan

I have been going to Toby for the last couple of the years and she is the best!  Highly recommend this salon.

– Maureen O.

I too followed Toby to her new beautiful location. I have baby fine hair which requires special attention so I don’t trust it to just anyone.  I have total confidence in Toby; she takes the time to do a in-depth consultation to understand you and preferences. I always walk out of the salon with beautiful color and a great cut. Treat yourself to a little pampering at Do The Bang Thing salon.

– Vicki H.

I don’t know where to begin! I’ve been seeing Toby for a couple years now and she is phenomenal! My hair has NEVER looked so good! The color and cut – no matter how many changes I make, ALWAYS look fabulous. Toby is so friendly and easy to talk to! Most importantly she listens and offers her input and then goes to work! She has always made me feel at ease. Love her!! Love my hair!! I tell everyone about her and have sent many many friends to her! 

The whole team at the new larger location is amazing. You won’t regret seeing any one of the talented girls here.

– Alissa W.

This is the best place in Denver! You will never walk away dissatisfied. Come, relax, enjoy a good glass of wine and feel beautiful! Keep it up ladies!!

– Courtney Despos

Toby has been my hair dresser for several years.  She does a fantastic job on my hair cut and works to help me attain the type of look that I want.  Toby also cares about me as a person and my time in the salon is so enjoyable.  Bri cut my hair once when Toby wasn’t available and she did a great job as well and I would recommend her.

– Debbie P.

Toby is (still) the best!! This new location is conveniently off of I-25 and Yale and it has all of the comforts of the previous location but with MORE! Toby has been doing my hair religiously for two years and I wouldn’t think of going to anyone else. I really trust her judgment when I want to try something new. In addition to her hair expertise, Toby is just an all around good person who I really enjoy being around I will be a returning customer for years to come!

– Sandy H.

I highly suggest DO The Bang Thing to anyone who asked about my hair, or a great place to get their hair done. Bri is incredible, and can give you exactly what your looking for. Also even if your not sure, she’s able to use her talent and professional training to find and create the perfect look for you. Every time I’ve got my hair done, it looked so vibrant, and all colors from bright purple to dark black lasted! My hair looks better than ever and was is healthy, let alone Bri is an incredible hair stylists and person. Do The Bang Thing is a very cozy beautiful salon, with stylists that care to your needs and make you feel comfortable. One of the best salons I’ve ever been too, and officially my go to salon for all looks and styles.

– Taylor Sullivan

Toby cut my hair this afternoon, and I love it. Not only did she give me an awesome scalp massage and make my “problem” hair look gorgeous, she was funny and engaging, and made the whole experience really wonderful. Make an appointment; you won’t be disappointed.

– Jennifer Shafer

I’ve been seeing Toby for two years now, she’s the only stylist in the Denver area that gets it right, every time! After having several other stylists butcher my bangs and give me uneven layers, I was at my wits end. I’ll never go anywhere else. Toby knows what she’s doing; I don’t feel like I need to give a lot of direction or bring a million photos. She makes fabulous suggestions and I trust her judgement 100%! Great location, relaxing atmosphere, lots of laughs!

– Kim Wood

I was searching for a new salon in the spring and came across Do The Bang Thing on Yelp. The salon had amazing reviews, and I was desperately looking for a new stylist who would spend time with me, and help me style my thick hair. I was blown away at my first appointment with Toby. She listened to exactly what I was looking for and spent time with me to show me new techniques to get the volume and style I’ve been hoping for. The salon is super cute and convenient to get to. Also, I love that you can schedule appointments online. I couldn’t be happier that I found this salon and Toby!!

– Valerie Peterson

It took me almost 7 years after moving to Denver to find Toby! Thank God I finally found her. She is the best and a killer at hair color. Every single one of my greys is always covered and I never end up with any of those crazy color lines that some stylists used to give me. Just perfect color every time. My cuts are always amazing and yes…she does give a life changing head massage. You cant beat her pricing or her witty banter, either! This place is my godsend!

– P Ash

Both Toby and Bri are super talented and amazing. Toby has been doing my hair for a year or two and I couldn’t be happier. I like that her place is located at Sola Studios because I can get my hair done and chat with her without the chaos of a large, busy salon. Plus she always has great music playing. Tip: Book your appointment in advance because she is a busy lady. Toby always makes sure to schedule me for one or two appointments in the future, mostly to keep me in check and I appreciate it 🙂

– Sandy Pants

Toby is the woman when it comes to hair. She listened to what i wanted and delivered. I went to her for the first time wanting Ombre, and she made my hair look EXACTLY how I imagined it would look! She is so sweet, very efficient (you won’t be sitting in the salon chair for hours), and very reasonable with your prices (you won’t be spending an arm and a leg for a hair do you don’t really even like). I have sent many people to her and everyone who has been to her really enjoyed their experience. I look forward to going to Toby for my hair cuts and colors for many a years. Please trust me when i say I am very picky and have searched for a stylist and will never go to another. Thanks Toby!

– Camille Ouellette

Toby and Bri are both awesome! They know what they are doing and you will not be disappointed! Don’t waste your time anywhere else!

– Lance Watson

I have never gotten more compliments on my hair in my LIFE. I feel like I finally have GOOD HAIR!

I remember when I was 14 and I first wanted to get my hair dyed (to HIDE my red!) my mom told me, “People pay thousands of dollars every year to get their hair this color and they can never succeed! Don’t mess with your beautiful red!” I didn’t listen and for the next decade, I completely buchered my hair color. 

A couple years ago, I wanted to revert back to my natural red. Everyone I went to made me look ridiculous…like I was wearing a hideous, red wig. I thought about giving up and just being boring brown. 

Then I found Toby.

Toby GETS red. My hair has the dimension and natural-looking highlights that I had when I was six. I visited my mom and she was elated to see that I had let my hair grow out to its natural color. (Pfft.. my hair would NOT look this good if it just grew out). When I told her my hair stylist did it, she told me she was going to start flying in from California to visit.

I also LOVE my cut. I wear my hair down every single day instead of my up-in-a-pony look that I’ve been rocking for the last 3 years.

I finally have beautiful hair. If Toby ever decides to move, I may have to take her hostage.

– Maddie S.

Toby and Bri are awesome. I have gone to them for the past year… they are great: Good haircuts, color blow-dry and they are very friendly and easygoing. I went to a few other places and theirs is the best. they also do kids.

– John S.

Toby is awesome! She did an amzing job for my wedding last month. I felt SO beautiful all day and night thanks to her. My hair was even beautiful the next day! I plan to continue to go back to her for my cut and color even though I live far away. She’s worth the drive!

– Katie B.

Toby is incredibly gifted and crazy affordable. I not only get a ton of compliments on my hair but I enjoy my time there because she is such a fun person. I haven’t seen anything she isn’t good at and she will always be honest with you when you are looking for a big change.

– Rachel S.

Toby is truly an amazing stylist. Her creative flair and attention to detail simply cannot be matched. I trust her exclusively not only for myself, but for my bridal and photo clients as well. 

Do the Bang Thing’s home studio is a welcome relief from the high-end snobbery of the 5280 scene. Same fabulous hair, same personal service, but none of the stuffiness–or the inflated pricing. Warm, clean, relaxed and totally about you. 

Kick back, unwind from a hectic day with a glass of prosecco and let Toby work her magic.  Be sure to ask about the Moroccan “Hair Crack.” She offers a complete line of services to include cut, color, style, bridal and special event updos, as well as waxing. Truly, one of the best kept secrets in the Centennial/Englewood area.

– Debster G.

Moving from another city is great, but finding a good hairstylist is borderline terrifying. 
I was referred to Toby by a couple of girlfriends of mine after some not so great experiences at other salons in Denver.

And I’m so glad I went to her! This is the best blonde I’ve ever had in the winter, looks completely natural, and the cut is great. Nice to have a hairdresser that doesn’t go crazy with the scissors. Totally worth my commute from Cap Hill.

Also, if you’re creeped out by getting your hair done out of someone’s home, don’t be.  Her place is adorable, and her prices are really reasonable (probably because she doesn’t have to pay to rent salon space).

– Christine H.

I absolutely Love Toby!


We have known each other for about 12 year’s now but lost touch for a few years in between. During the in between time, I had been to many hairstylists and even had one that I went to on a regular basis. But I got sick of over colored hair, expensive service that was not worth what I paid for and stylists cancelling or trying to change my appointment time last minute. 

When I ran back into Toby about three year’s ago I decided to put her service to the test and now I will never leave! I have very thick hair that is hard to style and get just right. Toby cuts my hair perfectly and it is always exactly what I ask for. Her coloring is dead on and I have received many, many comments on how beautiful my hair looks. I look forward to each time that I go in and get my haircut. I am always greeted with a smile, a glass of wine and an amazing head massage!

Last summer she did the hair and makeup for my sister’s wedding and this fall she will be doing mine! We have already been working over the last 6 months to grow out my hair to the perfect length where I can wear it exactly how I want on my wedding day. I know my day will be perfect thanks to the great service and fun times I will have with her that morning!

– Liz W.

This review is long overdue, but how does one condense TEN YEARS of fabulous service from an engaging, patient, professional, kind and extremely talented stylist into a few sentences?  I guess 10 years says it all.

– Stephanie S.

Toby is awesome!


I visited Toby after reading her reviews here on yelp at the end of last year. She is utterly fabulous!! I have a blast getting my hair done, my full foil high- and low-lights are gorgeously executed and my annoying sometimes-curly/sometimes-straight-definitely-­particular hair cut needs are always exceptionally exceeded by Toby’s efforts. 
Go here. The entire experience rocks.

– Karla P.

I went to see Toby because of all her great reviews. I had let my hair grow out for months and wanted to go short (4-5 inches shorter). Being a new client Toby was hesitant to take too much off especially since I could not give a clear picture of a style that I was looking for. I went home with a new haircut and after washing and styling it on my own I was just not happy. I called Toby and told her that I messed up – it wasn’t what I had envisioned. Though it was no fault of hers, she was so kind and accommodating – she had me come back the same day even though she had to stay past 9:00 pm. I gave a better description (and brought some pictures) and she was able to re-cut my hair. I now LOVE my new style. The reviews are true! She is not only a great stylist but a really great person.

– Nancy F.

My first visit with Toby  was awesome.  She was extremely friendly and welcoming to my children.  

We had a number of services done in the salon.  I had a highlight, haircut, and eyebrow wax.  All of them were done with precision and efficiency.  She took the time to make sure that she knew exactly what I wanted and gave me helpful suggestions.  My hair feels way better than when I walked in this morning.

She also gave my two kids, ages three and one, haircuts.  She was so patient and nice.  She did an awesome job maintaining a steady hand with my squirming kids. 

Her place is clean and modern.  You can tell she really takes pride in what she does.  We will definitely be going back!

– Candace C.

I go to Toby for all of my hair needs.  She is great at color, cuts, waxing and listening.  You name it, she rocks at it!  She is consistently learning new trends and helping apply them to my hair.  Toby is easy to talk to and she understands what I am trying to request even if I lack the lingo to ask for it!  I also love the fact that she is willing to be realistic for what I am asking to be done, with what the end result will be and doing things to meet some crazy trend I find on Pintrest.  

Toby is fabulous and I even had her do my wedding 4 years ago!

AND my Wedding Hair was GREAT!!

Toby did my wedding and was terrific!  She was super attentive, fun and made the wedding prep time great.  She was super with my wedding party and my mother.  My mother was determined her hair wouldn’t hold a curl, but Toby was able to pull through and make my mother proud of her hair!  She maneuvered great with my unique veil, and nothing flustered her, even when my maid of honor changed her hair plan.  She was a great asset to have there on my big day and I would recommend her to everyone!

– Karen V.

Toby was absolutely fantastic. She did the hair for me and my bridesmaids, and then used her airbrushing machine to make my makeup look flawless! She was very flexible with the location and time, very reasonable in price, and very fun and laid back. 

Each of my bridesmaids came with different ideas of what they wanted, and Toby effortlessly turned those ideas into a reality. Everybody was totally satisfied with her services, though my crying at the ceremony did leave smears in the makeup. (Probably my fault for failing to keep a Kleenex on me!)

I would recommend her 100%. 🙂

– Kate

When it comes to thinking outside the box for a new look Amanda is an awesome stylist, you can tell that she loves her work and that she is devoted to the industry!

– Mikala Unruh

The stylist is very knowledgeable. She listens to what you want and delivers amazing results. She has incredible talent. The day of my wedding, she arrived early just to make sure all of the girls hair and makeup was completed in a timely manner.

– Krista

I highly recommend Toby to anyone. She is awesome!

– Amanda Marie Sarrazin

Toby rocks! I always look stellar once I walk out of her salon! Come check her out!

– Jenni Reardan

I have had both Bri and Toby perform services on me. Bri is my go-to stylist and colorist, but in a pinch, Toby is fantastic.

Bri is excellent with my red / brunette hair. Her color formulation works great and I constantly get compliments. The cut is easy to maintain and style. So glad I found this salon!

– Kim R.

I love Toby! My hair always looks fabulous!

– Amanda S.

Always the best!

– Samantha M.

Very impressed. Found this salon on yelp and took both my young girls here. Bri was very nice and did an amazing job on both kids! I will be switching here as well. Very fun and relaxed atmosphere!

– Grace B.

The venue is very cute, comfortable, and welcoming, and definitely not as difficult to find as I was thinking it would be!

– Michelle N.

After moving to Centennial in 2012, and looking for a stylist, I found ‘Do the Bang Thing’ on the internet. The Yelp reviews were excellent, so I made an appointment. Toby is highly talented, and I’m always very happy with both the cut and highlight. I’ll keep going back as long as I live in the Denver area!

– Robin S.

Was recommended to see Amanda for hair coloring and am thrilled with my new look! She took me from brunette to multiple shades of blue and I feel gorgeous since she has put her fingers in my hair. Since then, my mother and also my daughter have been customers and we LOVE Amanda!! She has vision, talent, and an excellent personality. Customer for life! 🙂

– Tennie W.

I was recommended to see Amanda by a friend and I am beyond thrilled with my hair. She didn’t try to over sell me or start something with my hair that wasn’t my style. Amanda is easy to converse with and very attentive to detail. I love her work so much that I brought my mom AND my daughter to see her. I am a life long customer to Amanda now and will follow her anywhere!

– Tennie W.

LOVE this hair salon! Not too trendy but has a good vibe. I get my haircut only once a year because I was always scared to get my haircut from previous experiences. These stylists know what they are doing. They ALL have beautiful hair and color. Sophie did the BEST color on my hair and did exactly what I asked for my haircut. My color looks natural and not streaky. My sister also had a haircut and was nervous because she has been having stressed out hair. Sophie took her time and really seemed to care about the health of her hair. I was impressed and so happy that I finally found a hair stylist that I can trust. Thank you Sophie!

– Melissa R.

I had my hair Galaxy-type dyed on -2/5/16 by Erica, after previously having a smaller, trial run done by Amanda.  Words cannot describe how incredibly happy I am with both the results and with the attention and service provided by both these great ladies.  One of my primary concerns was that my hair remain healthy, and they both took extreme care that it did so, while also providing an extremely fantastic depth of wonderful color.  There is no way that I would ever consider going anywhere else for hair coloring, as I am convinced this salon is absolutely the very best place in town.

– Mimi R.

Amanda is amazing! She is incredibly knowledgable about what she is doing and really makes sure she understands what it is her customers are looking for. If you’re wanting quality highlights and just an all-around fun stylist, Amanda is your girl!

– Rachel L.

I’m so happy I trusted Yelp and went to Do the Bang Thing Salon! Amanda was so nice and professional. From the very first moment I liked her and knew I made the right choice!
She put time to ask me how I wanted my hair and gave great suggestions. I have full curly hair so I was nervous about going to a new stylist. Well, I was worried for nothing! Amanda does a great job on curly hair!
I’m so glad that I’ve found my stylist!!

– Hoda F.

Amanda is amazing!  I love my highlights. New to Denver and I’m so grateful I was referred here. This is a great salon.

– Heather T.

As everyone knows, it is really difficult to find a new stylist when you move. I have to say YELP did me good!!  I found Do the Bang Thing on Yelp and was overwhelmed by the positive comments. I went to the website and was really impressed with the site, gallery , bios and especially the ability to make an appointment online! I knew the place was good when all the stylists were booked over for a month. I chose Sophie and booked my appointment. Immediately I felt at ease with Sophie, she asked me all the right questions and set to work correcting my 12 week outgrow. The color came out perfect and .the cut and blowdry made my hair look the best it ever has, even my husband said it never looked better- and he does not usually comment on my hair.
I am so excited to have someone I can trust to do just the right thing to make my hair look its best. Thank you Sophie!!

– Mary C.

It took me almost 7 years after moving to Denver to find Toby! Thank God I finally found her. She is the best and a killer at hair color. Every single one of my greys is always covered and I never end up with any of those crazy color lines that some stylists used to give me. Just perfect color every time. My cuts are always amazing and yes…she does give a life changing head massage. You cant beat her pricing or her witty banter, either! This place is my godsend!

– P. A.

Elisa Rodriguez is the best hairdresser I have ever had. She has been cutting and coloring my hair for a year. When she started, my hair was badly damaged. She told me what I needed to do to get my hair in shape. It looks better now than it ever has. I hate that she moved to Denver. I may be making a lot of trips to the Mile High City. She is also a pro at makeup. Denver residents are lucky to have her. Miss you!

– Tonja B.

Toby consistently provides high quality service. What makes her stand out from others is that she remembers little details about me (even non-hair related ones) and has great suggestions if I decide to try something different than my usual. I would say that the only downside is that Toby is booked out pretty far in advance but the wait is well worth it!

– Sandy H.

Elisa is an amazing stylist and colorist. She has been cutting and coloring my hair for the last 8 years. She always has great advice for your hair type and she works with you to get the look you really want. She has years of experience and strives to gain more knowledge every opportunity she has with continued education. Amarillo’s loss is Denver’s gain. I will definitely be traveling, because I wouldn’t trust anyone else with my hair.

– Lisa G.

Amanda is the best hair stylist I have ever used. She has skill and listens. She helps me achieve a great style and knows how to work with my cow lick so that isn’t a problem. I highly recommend this place! Treat your self and do the bang thing. 😁

– Anthony F.

I recently had a bad haircut (elsewhere) and I went to Sophie to help me fix it. She did an amazing job. She was very punctual and my hair really does look great now! I will be defiantly going back to her on a regular basis from now on.

– Milena D.

Did a great job with hair. Will go back to her to have my hair cut.

– Johnette H.

Elisa is the best hair stylist and makeup artist ever. She has done my hair for 7 years and never a disappointment. She truly cares about the client and wants nothing more than to make them feel beautiful. I highly recommend her for anyone that is looking for someone amazing.

– Jennifer H.

Love Elisa!! She is awesome. Been going to her for years!! She is the best hair and makeup artist.

– Ema V.

Elisa has done my hair for 10 years. I started going to her while she was in hair school. She has ALWAYS done a phenomenal job! I always want a different look and always change my style. Elisa has ALWAYS made me look fabulous! Her hair and makeup skills are THE BEST! I do NOT trust ANYONE ELSE with my hair. Elisa is your go to woman for hair or makeup!

– Destiney A.

Elisa is an amazing stylist and colorist. She has been cutting and coloring my hair for the last 8 years. She always has great advice for your hair type and she works with you to get the look you really want. She has years of experience and strives to gain more knowledge every opportunity she has with continued education. Amarillo’s loss is Denver’s gain. I will definitely be traveling, because I wouldn’t trust anyone else with my hair.?

– Lisa G.

Elisa has done an amazing job for me and my girls over the past few years. Makeup, cuts, colors and styles she has done it all for us from parties, photo shoots, Sr pics, banquets, proms and weddings! I highly recommend this amazing stylist to anyone!

– Lynn D.

Elisa is amazing amd full of talent. She Is not only an Expert colorist /stylist but she is amazing with make up and even design for fashion shows. I highly recommend her!

– Jessica D.

Sophie does an awesome blow out. She is very personable and she gets me in and out in about 45 minutes. Thanks Sophie for being an awesome person and beautician.

– Sharon J.

Toby is an artist with hair/coloring. I recently moved to Denver and I don’t let “anyone” touch my hair. She was recommended to me and I keep telling everyone about her salon. I now have blue, green and purple (peacock) highlights and I ADORE my hair. At 55 I feel 25 again – it’s all do to her fine work. My hair is softer and shiny now – I would urge anyone to visit her salon.

– Sandy C.

Yay! I think I’ve finally found a permanent home for my locks. After moving here almost 2 years ago, I had been making do, but once my girl moved away – it was time to find a new home since I didn’t like the guy who took over her clients.

I love that you can make a reservation online and learn a little more about each stylist before doing so. I did arrive a few minutes late (tsk tsk on my part), but Sophie was ready for me and greeted me at the front door. Yeay for not being behind schedule! I know things happen, but it drives me nuts.

After a quick consultation, she whipped up my color formula (which is a near perfect match) and we were off. She was incredibly friendly and I loved chatting with her. Not to mention I thought she did a great job on my hair! It was the end of the day, so I was bummed that I didn’t have a date planned with the hubby because I loved how she styled it when I left. Note to Yelpers – you’ll look good walking out of here – make sure the world sees your fabulous hair immediately!

– Jessica M.

Elisa, was fabulous!!!!  Excellent and thorough job on my fashion hair coloring and trim.  Elisa is very personable and knowledgeable about what would look best, how to fix it in case it happens to fade a bit, styled it phenomenally, and to say the least I’ll never go to anyone else ever again to get my hair done!! 


Everyone at Do The Bang Thing is extremely friendly and accommodating.  The salon is impeccably clean, well kept, and the accommodations such as complimentary coffee, water, beer, and wine are one more added bonus that puts Do The Bang Thing higher than the rest.  The prices are very reasonable especially for all the added pleasantries that come with this salon from the stylists, cleanliness, and added bonuses.
I had a fabulous experience for my first time and will never go anywhere again!  I will recommend Do The Bang Thing to ALL of my friends make and female alike.

– Angela G.

As a fairly active/athletic person, I spent quite a bit of time trying to find a masseuse who could create change/improvement in my muscle tissue. Lyndsey knows what the hell she’s doing and greatly increases my recovery times and mobility issues. Two thumbs up.

– Taylor B.

Amanda performs extremely well when it comes to any kind of hair! She is by far one of if not the best stylist I’ve ever known. If you want fun color or just a basic cut she definitely has you covered! I’ve seen so many cuts and colors she has done and they are always amazing! And everything I have ever got has been more than satisfying, even when I let her decide what to do! If you’re looking for a new salon/stylist this is where you need to be!

– Justin H.

Had a blast going there they are amazing. The hair shampoo and conditioner selection is rocking. Love the decor. I am so happy I found them while I was out visiting my friends in Colorado. I am so glad I got my hair cut there. I learned a ton of things about hair and how to help my hair look fuller 🙂 Go there for a great experience! Mitzi is the best!

– Tanya S.

AMANDA WOOD!  What a great job this young lady did to my hair.  I went in, looking for this crazy… I guess “peacock” style hair and Ms. Wood did such an amazing job.  It barely even took an hour too!!! I highly recommend this excellent salon and Ms. Wood in particular

– Jackson M.

Hi.  My name is Francie S. and I’m writing to say how awesome a stylist Sophie Loment is!  She styled, cut and colored my hair for several years here in Houston, TX at the Do Bar and at Craft Salon.  My hair always looked great and I’ve missed her since she left.  Make an appointment with Sophie and you will love what she does for your hair!

– Francie S.

Since moving here from Phoenix 6 plus years back my wife has yet to find who she would refer to as ‘HER’ stylist. Toby from Do the Bang Thing Salon has made the cut. Thank you Toby for being so wonderful at your profession!

– Dr. Mike Varnay

Toby is amazing! I’m always nervous to try out new salons, especially with curly hair. The first time I came in Toby fixed a horrible cut job from another place. From then on Do The Bang Thing had me as a client. I highly recommend them to anyone!

– Emily Mittelman

5 or so years ago, I was looking for a new hair stylist. I browsed trusty Yelp and stumbled upon Toby. The reviews were great– everyone talked about how she was the best colorist for red hair–so I crossed my fingers and booked her. 

I haven’t looked back!

She just opened this new, expanded location off 25 and Yale and it’s truly a reflection of how incredible she is as a stylist and a person. I’ve gone to Toby for literally everything… she did my hair and make up for my bachelorette party (and helped me fix a botched self-tan incident of my own doing… good grief), she helped me keep my hair looking good during the dreaded wedding grow-out, she chopped it all of to donate to Pantene Great Lengths, she keeps me red, has taken me blonde, refreshes my look, and is an absolute pleasure to be around. The only downside to Toby is that the word is out, so it’s not as easy to call her last-minute for a “I’ve gone crazy! Let’s try this thing I saw on Pinterest!” Which, is probably for the best… though I swear the lavender hair color is something I’m dying to try.

Go to Do the Bang Thing! You’ll be thrilled you did.

– Maddie S.

{Do} the Bang Thing is hands down my favorite salon. If you’re looking for awesome stylists, great atmosphere, and the best prices you’ve ever seen (believe me, I looked) this is the last review you’ll need to read for a salon. Book your appointment now and spare yourself any regrets or heartache down the road. 

– Julie M.

Toby is awesome! I’ve been going to Toby for about 2 years and I will never go to anyone else. She knows exactly what I like and does it.  She gives great advice on what I should do with my hair. The highlights I just got last weekend are the best I’ve ever had.  She’s also great to talk to and a great listener.

– Pamela A.

{Do} The Bang Thing is the must go place to get your hair done. Toby is amazing. I have gone to her for the last two years and every time I leave the salon 110% ecstatic on how great and amazing my hair looks. The atmosphere and customer service are wonderful. I highly recommend going to this salon and you will find this will soon be your favorite salon and will not go anywhere else.

– Amanda S.

I will never go to another salon again. Bri is the bee’s knees. She always boosts my confidence with her magic fingers and artistic skillage. I will follow her to the end. This salon may be small, but it is fierce!

– MEGANbooom

I have been going to Toby for about a year now and I have loved my experience. My first time there, I took her a photo of what I wanted and I left looking exactly like the photo. Since then, she has listened and offered advice on which styles and colors would work best for my hair and my budget. Love her!

– Jennifer Lee

I was so lucky to have found Toby. She is edgy when you need her, professional and prompt, yet always makes you feel like you are the most important thing in her day. If you are looking for a place for a cut, color, with a little edge and impressive quality, stop here. Look no further!! Toby and Bri will take you in, make you love every minute, and you will be checking yourself out in the mirror for weeks to come because you will love their work!

– Amy Binder

This Salon is wonderful! Toby does amazing color and cutting along with a scalp massage! She is professional and spends a lot of time with her clients. I don’t think I have had a better hairdresser and would never go anywhere else. Her salon is very inviting and has the quality of a high end salon without the high end prices. I just can’t say enough about her and the salon and her!

– Gina Hauser

This is a fabulous salon! Toby’s prowess at handling my naturally curly hair that I sometimes straighten is unmatched! Every cut looks awesome both ways! Her color – amazing!! Look no further! I’ve seen Bri in action too – these two are totally worth a visit for FAB hair!

– Karla Plantan

I have been going to see Toby for about two years now. She is an extremely talented stylist who always understands exactly what I am looking for, even when I don’t know myself! She has done a great job on my hair color and on styles and I always get lots of compliments after I have been to see her. The salon environment is very relaxing. I would highly recommend Toby and Bri.

– Erica Witherow

I have curly hair so it always makes it a challenge to find a good hairdresser! I couldn’t be happier with Toby…EVERY time!

– Katie Netsch

I recommend Do The Bang Thing to all my friends. Seriously, I even carry around business cards because I get so many complements on my hair. Toby has been doing my hair for several years, and I vow to never go anywhere else. Always a relaxing and enjoyable experience, the ladies at Do The Bang Thing welcome you as friends and treat you like family! Thank you Toby and Bri!

– Allison Grout

If I could give advice to anyone, it would be GO TO THIS SALON NOW! This place is awesome! Toby is the best stylist I have seen. EVER. She gets color, she makes great suggestions that I trust, and she listens to what I want. She gets it. I actually used to hate getting my hair done because it seemed like a hassle to find the time, but since I started going to {Do} The Bang Thing a little over a year ago, I look forward to my appointments. I love my time spent here- I get to relax and be pampered and leave looking and feeling awesome!

– Becky White

Love love love the ladies at {Do} The Bang Thing! Warm, welcoming, experienced, and very talented! Toby has been doing my hair for several years and I wouldn’t go anywhere else (except to Miss Bri, of course) I always enjoy my time at their salon, it’s so much better than a big noisy salon atmosphere. I would recommend {Do} The Bang Thing to everyone!

– Lyndsey Slade

Do the Bang Thing has been the BEST that has happened to my hair since I have moved to the Denver area. Toby is an amazing hairstylist, she also give the BEST and I mean the BEST head massages EVER. Not only that but she works some serious magic with color, doesnt matter of it is dark brown or purple, she always keeps me looking amazing. Thanks dude you always rock my world!!!!

– Samantha Holcomb

After a long search on Yelp, I found Toby about a year ago.  I’m not particularly handy with a round brush and hairdryer, so Toby gives me a cut that keeps my long hair looking good without too much fuss.   She’s a great colorist and helped me correct some bad color decisions from my past stylist.  When you’re in her chair, Toby is all about you.  It’s a small shop – just Toby and Bri – so it’s super comfortable and both ladies are a lot of fun to chat with.

I love the online appointment booking system.  It’s also nice when sitting in the chair she’s not answering the phone every 5 minutes.  Book early!  For the evenings and weekends, there is often a wait – sometimes 4 weeks.  Yeah, she’s that good.  Now I make sure to book an appointment before I leave the salon.

– Carolyn F.

Where to start?! I found Toby when I first mover to Denver in July of 2012. I had just gotten engaged and was hoping to find someone who I could use also for my wedding. Can I just say that I lucked out finding Toby?  She is awesome, incredibly talented, inviting, friendly, and put genius. She has helped me grow out my hair to be able to pull up for the wedding. She has helped me through hair challenges, and the trials and tribulations of planning a wedding. At my wedding, 2 weeks ago, she rocked it, stunning hair in everyone and makeup that was fantastic and lasted all day! She is pure talent!


Not only am I proud to have her as my hairstylist, but going to see her is one of my favorite things to do. Bring in a bottle of wine, or coffee, and we are like best friends! I adore her, and if you could get an appointment with her, or her other stylist, Brie, you will know how awesome these two girls are!

– Amy B.

I just saw Toby for the first time and was blown away. I set up an appointment via email and it was incredibly easy communicating with her. Her location was extremely easy to find. It was cozy, well decorated, warm and welcoming.

After a brief conversation on what I wanted she immediately got to work. The cut she gave me was exactly what I was after. Excellent job and I will be returning and recommending others.

– Jacob H.

Wedding Hair was GREAT!!

Toby did my wedding and was terrific!  She was super attentive, fun and made the wedding prep time great.  She was super with my wedding party and my mother.  My mother was determined her hair wouldn’t hold a curl, but Toby was able to pull through and make my mother proud of her hair!  She maneuvered great with my unique veil, and nothing flustered her, even when my maid of honor changed her hair plan.  She was a great assest to have there on my big day and I would recommend her to everyone!  I will go to her for any hair needs in the future.

– Karen V.

After moving to the area, I was in desperate need of a cut and color. I found Do The Bang Thing and right away loved the name!! I met with Toby and loved her from the start!! She was very professional, fun, and knew exactly what to do with my hair.  My cuts and colors always come out great and I always have an all around wonderful visit at Do The Bang Thing!

– Chelsea G.

Toby is amazing! I moved here from Ohio and the scariest part of my move was leaving my hair stylist of 6 years behind. Toby actually talked on the phone with my old stylist to make sure we were set on the right blonde for me. Talk about service. She had me walking out of her gorgeous home looking blonde as ever. 

If you want fabulous looking hair- go to her, she’s the best:)

– Taylor H.

I just moved to the area and was very concerned with finding a new stylist. After reading all of the positive comments I called Toby. I can’t tell you how relieved I was to walk up and see she had red hair. It can be so hard for some stylists to get red right. Not Toby, she listened and my color looks amazing!!! I will definitely recommend her to anyone that asks! Oh, and the head massage during shampoo is fantastic. You leave completely relaxed and looking fabulous!

– Krista B.

Bri and Toby are both amazing!!!! They did the hair and makeup for myself, my mom, bridesmaids, and the MOG for my wedding and every single person loved them. They are so flexible, affordable, efficient, and fun to work with! I absolutely loved the way they styled everyone’s hair; and the makeup looked so good, but so natural. I would HIGHLY recommend them! They are awesome 🙂

– Katie T.

Absolutely love Toby!! I found Toby through Yelp when I moved here last year and discovered that all the five star reviews were definitely deserved. She’s an excellent listener and gives you exactly what you ask for, no asking for an inch off and getting three to four inches off like with some stylists, but she also gives great hair advice if you’re not totally sure what you want. In addition, Toby is very affordable and so nice! I always enjoy my haircut appointments with her and even though I’m moving out of state, I know that I’ll continue to come to her whenever I’m back in town visiting my family. Bottom line, she comes very highly recommended and if you need a new hair stylist, look no further!

– Arielle M.

Friendly staff. Their establishment is clean and tidy, and my stylist was superb at eyeballing how I wanted my hair to be cut from a magazine cut-out. I would highly recommend them.

– Sarah S.

Toby and her assistants did an amazing job at my wedding! Getting 8 of us done hair and make-up in 4 hours was no easy task. All of my lady’s looked amazing from the airbrushed foundations to the hairstyling! Not to mention it lasted through the after party!

– Jenny

Toby is amazing. I went on Yelp to read reviews and couldn’t believe all the wonderful reviews. I finally decided to give her a try. Plus, she was so much more reasonable priced than so many other salons. 

She not only does an amazing job cutting my hair, but also coloring. I am so glad I have found her!! She is truly a gem. My hair looks amazing. She is professional and so much fun. 

I love the scalp massage when she washes your hair along with the amazing products. She really takes time with her clients and really cares.

– Gina H.

Toby, the hair-care-extraordinaire, with wit and talent that is both sharp and on trend.  Toby has a natural talent, and she goes out of her way to make sure you are listened to, and she is able to translate what you say to what you want.  I have been a client for going on 3 years, and i will follow her anywhere.  
This new location is an exciting new space for this salon, and Toby has added new talent to this salon.


I always enjoy spending the afternoon with these ladies.  You will too!!

– Amy B.

My hair has found its soul mate.  I started to see Toby for my hair needs on a whim about two years ago when…well…my hair looked like crap and I needed a new do.  She rocked it on my first visit and continues to rock it every time.  I am someone that likes to change it up from time to time and she always has great suggestions on how to make my “visions” work.  Her skills and knowledge on hair color are amazing!  In addition, my cuts on always spot on.  I always look forward to my appointments not only because I know I will look fabulous when I walk out, but also because I get to spend a few hours hanging out and chatting with a super fun person.  The new salon is absolutely amazing!

– Becky W.

Toby is seriously the best! I have never left her salon hating my hair! I love the hair consultations at the beginning so we can talk what ideas I have and helps makes those a reality. She never disappoints! Super friendly. Do the Bang thing is definitely one of the best in Denver. I moved from Miami and searched for 6 years until I found Toby!

– Samantha M.

I got a haircut, conditioning treatment, and blowout from the amazing Amanda Wood! I love my hair and the salon. It’s so cute and intimate. I had a great experience.

– Rachel Alexa Richards

Toby works serious magic with color and will make your hair look absolutely amazing. Queen of blonde hair!

– Allie Kranick

Her pictures speak for themselves.

– Tiny Sophy

Toby at {Do} the Bang Thing did wedding hair for my entire wedding party. She did a great job. All of the girls (including my mom) looked polished and perfect for my wedding day. Everyone raved about the hair! Her pricing was very competitive and she worked very efficiently and was able to do the entire group by herself. She even traveled up to Vail for the day! Thank you Toby!!!

– Julie

Toby is super sweet! And I forgot to mention she did an AMAZING job cutting my hair!!! I have been looking for a awesome hair stylist for the last 6 years! My search is over!!

– Samantha Martinez

So awesome!

– Jessica Walker

Sophie did an amazing job, always use olaplex!

– Kimberly S.

After spending four hours at another salon earlier this week and having an “OMG WTF did they do to my hair” experience, I called Do the Bang Thing Salon today in a desperate attempt to find someone who could fix my hair. I’m so glad I did!! Not only did they fit me in, but Erica was wonderful! She made me feel very comfortable, explained clearly what we needed to do to fix my hair, and did an absolutely fantastic job. She’s got a super fun personality and had me laughing through the whole appointment. I honestly don’t know what kind of dye-magic she did, but I now have the right highlights for my face and the cut is adorable. Erica cutified me so much that, after my appointment, I got several random compliments on my hair from strangers.

I’m so happy to have found this salon!! It’s honestly such a relief to know that I now have my “salon home” in Denver, and my new official stylist – Erica. Woooo! Thanks Erica for turning my hair from “WTF” into “the cutest me”!

– Jen P.

Sophie! She is the best- I have been looking for so long for someone that can do good color. I’m so happy with my hair color! She did all my foils for full highlight low light in under and hour. You schedule online and make sure you get Sophie

– Morgan A.

Hi. I live in Houston, TX and Sophie was my stylist here both at Do Bar and at Craft Salon. She is awesome and took great care of my hair including color and cut for a number of years and I was sad that she moved to Denver, but you have a great stylist that has joined your salon. You look great – I like you hair long. You go, Sophie!

– Francie S.

Amanda did such a great job on my hair! I have baby fine dark hair and she gave it some dimension with highlights and a haircut. I will be back for sure. Thank you, Amanda!

– Lisa C.

Elisa has been by far the best person who has ever laid hands on my hair. She has done my senior high school picture and been with me all the way down the aisle. She did amazing work on my bridesmaids as well as me. I may add that my hair is not easy to handle. She works miracles on my long thick hair. You will without a doubt feel like a brand new woman or man when Elisa is done with you.

– Brionne M.

Elisa has been so amazing with my thick coarse hair for nearly 6 years now! She does an incredible job with my highlights and super picky wants. Her inverted bob is to die for! Denver is going to love you, Elisa!!

– Patricia M.

Elisa is an amazing artist! She definitely loves her job. She always makes you feel beautiful about yourself.

– Amber H.

Kelly was quick, professional, and personable. I will schedule another mani/pedi with her!

– Leaza S.

Sophie is amazing! Over the last two months she has been my hair-apist! I went in for color knowing my hair was damaged from hard water. I changed my water system and figured I was ready for some color. Sophie was completely honest about the damage done to my hair and encouraged me to get it healthy first. What did I know? I just thought some color would bring it back to life but Sophie actually brought it back to life. We’ve been doing the olaplex treatment and it’s been showing tremendous results! Sophie will give it to you straight, if you are asking for something that is unattainable she is honest. She cares about your hair and your happiness and won’t do anything that may compromise that. How can you not respect that!? Listen to the ladies talk, take the advice they give you to heart. It’s so obvious that they do what they do because they love it, not solely for production. 
Today we had an error with my appointment and it wasn’t on the books, Sophie to the rescue! She saw me anyway, she valued my time coming in. She is down to earth and damn good at what she does. 
Hair time is my “me time” to chill from my busy hectic life. While chilling in my new favorite hair salon, I have observed most who work here. I am always impressed watching what they do for their clients! 
Don’t hesitate to go here, you will not be disappointed.

– Susan D.

Amanda was amazing! She fixed my hair and it is no longer 3 different shades. I love my haircut! It was nice to have someone who listened and be on the same page. I definitely recommend her to redheads!

– Anne S.

Okay, so I don’t REALLY want to tell you how good D.T.B.T.  is because then you’ll want to go too, and then I will never be able to get an appointment.  But really, EVERY TIME Toby cuts my hair, I think, “This is the best haircut I’ve ever had.”  Then I go again, and then I am sure my new cut is the best.  I love this place.  Awesome.

– Jennifer S.

I was referred to Amanda Wood by a friend who knew my crazy style. I went in looking for something completely original and that’s just what I got! With only a color palette chosen by me, Amanda transformed my hair into the piece of art it is now! Not only does she do exceptional color service, she also cut and styled my hair in the manor of a true professional! For whatever your hair needs may be, I HIGHLY recommend Amanda Wood at Do The Bang Thing!

– Ashrey R.

The environment at the salon is so fun. Toby is such a sweetheart as well and even though my smooth out treatments take a long time, it is never a hassle to go and get my hair done because of how well these two treat their clients. It’s very obvious how much they love their work and genuinely enjoy their clients. Plus their new salon is beautiful! 

As long as they are in Colorado, I will follow them no matter where they move. I would recommend it to anyone!

– Lucy P.

Toby is a master with curly hair! As someone with naturally curly hair, I’m always nervous to try new places but once I walked in and Toby fixed a bad cut job from another place, she had me sold.  I wouldn’t trust my hair care to anyone else

– Emily M.

I wish I could give six stars!  

I have been a {Do} the Bang Thing  client since they were at their previous location at Southglenn.  I believe Toby is a hair goddess.  Her expertise in color and cutting hair is bar none, the best I have experienced.   She listens to what her customer(s) wants and needs and provides excellent customer service.   Everyone who walks out the door looks amazing!

– Bk C.

I followed Do The Bang Thing from their location in Southglenn to the Yale location. For one main reason, Toby is amazing. Since 2005 I hadn’t been to one salon more than two times because I never felt like the person truly cared about my hair and me. As well as I don’t trust many stylists because I’ve had so many bad cuts. I’ve been to Toby five times already and will continue to go back!

When I moved to the Denver area I looked for a salon that had the best reviews, and Do The Bang Thing is the best I found. There were over 30 five star reviews for the salon. I couldn’t pass up going to Do The Bang Thing, so I quickly made an appointment with Toby. 

Toby truly cares about the look she does for someone, so she offers good advice and gives honest opinion which is very important. Toby doesn’t push product which has happened to me so many other times at other salons. 

I don’t feel like I’m just another client to Toby. She remembers things about me and asks how I am doing. She knows I’m pregnant and asks how I’m doing and feeling. I can’t wait for my little girl to experience the magic of Toby.

– Kate B.

Absolutely love Toby, I’ve followed her since she was doing hair from her home she’s so good! Admittedly I only ever get blonde highlights and a cut, but both have always been phenomenal. Never the brassy yellow color us blondes work so hard to avoid. Highly recommend.

– Christine H.

I’ve been going to Amanda Wood to get my hair cut for about a year now. She’s simply amazing, her energy is great!

– Jacob Ruland

I’ve been with Toby for almost 2 years, and highly recommend her. I appreciate her expertise and approach to her craft. She’s upfront and realistic about your expectations, and works hard to achieve the results you’re looking for. She told me it might take a few visits to achieve the lighter look I was interested in, due to the multiple colors and processes I had subjected my hair to….and it did. But I’d rather have someone set the expectation up front, than be disappointed when my hair isn’t INSTANTLY transformed to the look I fantasize about. I love her salon. They’re like your cool friends you wish you got to spend more time with, but pick up right where you left off when you see them again. Great work, ladies–love ya!!

– Lisa Norgard

About a year and half ago, I moved to Denver from Texas. What this means is that I had to find a new hairstylist. Ugh. It’s list dating and you never even know where to start. I hopped on Yelp and saw amazing reviews of Toby. Being a bit apprehensive, I headed over for my first appointment. It had been almost 6 months since my last hair cut. As cliche as it sounds, she was everything I could have hoped for! Fun attentive and so so good at hair!!! Since then I’ve grown my hair out and done ombre and just recently chopped it off, added blond and some funky angles. Toby is good at ALL of it. I adore Toby and have recommended her to countless people and have my next appointment in September!!!!!

– Sarah Taylor

I have been going to Do the Bang Thing for over 4 years and have never been happier with my hair! Toby does an amazing job with my color and style. I would highly recommend them to anyone! When I came to Toby my hair was in bad condition but now it looks amazing. I have never felt better about my looks! So thank you Toby! Tracey

– Duckey Derr

I searched and searched for someone to do my hair. I found Toby after 5 years in the area and I will NEVER go anywhere else! She is awesome and knows what shes doing. My hair isn’t easy but it always looks awesome! The ladies are great, friendly and knowledgeable! Do NOT go anywhere else! Just because you pay too much doesn’t mean you get a great hairstylist. These ladies are awesome and affordable, try them out and you won’t regret it. Love both them! Cannot refer them enough!

– Alissa Watson

Amanda Wood highlighted my hair and not only did she get it done faster than I expected, I’ve gotten many compliments on it stating that it’s even and very well done. She was also very enjoyable to chat with!

– Antoinette S.

Toby is the best! I’m pretty picky and have seen many hair stylists, but she is by far my favorite. She takes her job seriously and just gets the look that I am going for. In addition, she is very reasonably priced for how good she is. If you’ve had trouble finding someone good to cut your hair and/or color, Toby is your girl. Give her a try, you won’t be disappointed.

– Marina O.

 

I finally found my stylist! I moved here 3 years ago and have been to too many mediocre stylists. After over a year of self care, I finally decided to go on Yelp to find a new stylist.

I came across Toby on Yelp and decided to give her a try. It was probably the best decision that I’ve made in a while!  Her salon is super cute and comfy. I had a cut and color and everything was awesome. Toby is not only a great stylist, but a genuinely good person. Plus she has a great taste in music!

I will definitely be returning and will recommend you to others! Thank you!!

– Sandy H.

 

Being new to the area, I decided to go on a Yelp quest to find a new salon. I stumbled onto this page and read about this fabulous Toby who is great with color- especially red hair. Exactly what I wanted!! 

We decided on a red that would look best with my skin tone and the resulting color was gorgeous! She knew just what I wanted and kept it very natural looking so I didn’t end up looking like Bozo. The cut was just as awesome.. I  actually looove my hair now!! I have received SO many compliments on it and I can’t wait to go back and see what else she suggests 😀 

I would especially recommend her to anyone who is considering a major change like going red. She will give you her honest advice and she is truly talented, so trust her! You will not be disappointed!

Oh! And one more thing I love about her- She uses great quality products and has them available for purchase in her salon, but she doesn’t try to pressure you into buying anything from her like soooo many other salons do, which is a huge turn-off for me.

– Kara J.

 

Toby is AMAZING. 

I’m planning a wedding in Denver but live in Washington. Toby at Do the Bang Thing, does the whole wedding package and came highly recommended. I did a consult and hair cut/style with her on a visit in February. I’ve never had so many complements on my hair cut. I have extremely CURLY hair and she sculpted, layered and gave me the perfect bangs living up to her name!  I loved her ideas for style, hair and makeup for my engagement photos and the fact she’s a one stop shop,  so booked. 

I showed up with my wardrobe and she helped me make my final selection from jewelry to shoes and then matched my hair and makeup. We did a vintage shoot and she got the hair and makeup PERFECT! My pictures by Deborah Grigsby Illustrative Photography, are priceless! I cant wait to see what she does for my big day!

– Bonnie H.

 

I’ve seen Toby a number of times now and every time I’ve seen her I have been beyond thrilled with the results. She whipped up the most awesome color for me, exactly what I always wanted. Her home studio is beautiful and very comfortable.  Oh and she has made my eyebrows look perfect. Easily as good as any high end salon but at better prices. I see no reason to go anywhere else. Plus she’s so nice! She’s stuck with me. 🙂 Thanks Toby!

– Jess W.

 

Toby is amazing and did a fabulous job on my hair. Not only are her prices reasonable, but she is the best hairdresser I’ve found in Denver! I highly recommend her and am definitely going back!

– Shena W.

 

Can’t recommend this place enough. When Toby first started cutting my hair, I was trying to grow out a pixie cut. She made the whole process as painless as possible, shaping and trimming my hair as it grew out to make sure it looked good at every stage. Now that my hair is finally long again, Toby is still just the best–my hair is perfectly layered and shaped and has basically never looked better. I’ve never gotten so many compliments on it. Freaking love this place.

– Katie R.

 

I love Bri! She is always so sweet to me whenever I come in. She gets the color I want right everything and my cut always looks great. I would recommend her to anyone! Boys or girls!

Bri is awesome!! She always does exactly what I ask for and makes my color look beautiful! Love do the bang thing!

– Averi F.

 

I had moved to the area and had to find an awesome hair stylist and color specialist.  Not only do I have long Asian hair, but it is graying with a vengeance! It’s usually very difficult to find that right stylist that gets it.

In searching, Yelp turned up: Toby with  “Do the Bang Thing”.  After reading all the reviews, I choose Toby… Jackpot! I made the right decision. Not only is she hip and darling, she’s a great listener and communicator to what Exactly you are wanting with your hair. She got it Right the first time and every time since.  My color match is perfect, love the lowlights & highlights and hair style. My hair has never looked better! I receive SO MANY compliments on my hair wherever I go!

Oh yes, you will also be treated to her special hair wash scalp massage…. priceless!

– Stazzy S.

 

My first impression of Toby was, “WOW! She’s listening.” My second impression was, “Wow! I’m not scared.” My third impression was “WOW! This is easy!”

I have a LOT of hair and my texture wet is very different than when dry. For this very reason, I have avoided hair stylists in Colorado. Most often, they wouldn’t believe me when I would tell them about my hair type. Additionally, every single one always had an idea of what they should do with my hair and none of them spoke to me about what actually should be done with my hair. Toby was the first to tell me exactly what I needed, gave me choices on what I could do, and still let me know she could do the generic, “traditional” processing should I prefer. Since I have never preferred processing, I was amazed that there was an alternative. In no time, she had my hair tamed, and looking and feeling great. I left her salon with a sudden boost of confidence I hadn’t had in a long time. It was great to actually have hair that I liked again. No more ponytails for me! She did something amazing for me. 

Additionally, it was a comfort knowing that her space is kid friendly. She has a game room for the kids to play and go crazy in as well as places for them to be “under foot,” while she works. As a single mom, knowing I can still get a little hair pampering while my child is entertained and safe, definitely helped. 

Toby is amazing. I HIGHLY RECOMMEND her. In fact, I have recommended her often. She does not disappoint.

– Z S.

 

This is a terrific salon. Toby is really skilled and also fun to talk to. I am really pleased with both my cut and color. I really like the energy of Toby and Bri. I have never been pressured to buy tons of product (something I hate at other places) and they don’t have a snobby, “hipper than thou” vibe like some salons do. I really don’t have any complaints at all except for a tip: You don’t want to cancel your appointment because they book up fast and it can be hard to get in if you have to reschedule.

– Tiffany P.

 

Toby and Bri are some seriously talented ladies! I only trust Bri with my delicate ombre. She is so so talented at doing free hand color from balayage to ombre she is your girl! These girls have passion that takes my hair experience above and beyond! Their new space is so awesome! There is no stopping these girls in their quest to conquer the world and make everyone beautiful. They really listen and are super accommodating to my hair needs! I love the j beverly hills products and i love that they sell it as it can be hard to find sometimes. Basically all my needs are met at do the bang thing! 5 stars for sure!

– Nicole M.

 

Love the environment and the people. I would recommend them to anyone that is looking for a great haircut.

– Carl Farrier Photos

Love love love this salon!

– Kate Eggleston

Toby is the BEST!

– Natalie Barkey

My hair loves Toby.

– Karla Plantan

Toby was phenomenal with me and my family! The patience and kindness she showed my family was bar none. I would recommend her to any and everyone. Now my husband and all of my friends, family and co-workers call her up. She does everything to make it a special time, and stress free.

– Karenthegreat

I think this place is the bomb, and Toby knows how to whip your hair into shape.

– Meg Van Ordstrand

Toby is incredibly professional, highly skilled and very friendly. I always leave her salon feeling stylish and my 2 year old loves her. I highly recommend Do The Bang Thing for adults and children alike!

– Dianna P.

Where to start?! I found Toby when I first mover to Denver in July of 2012. I had just gotten engaged and was hoping to find someone who I could use also for my wedding. Can I just say that I lucked out finding Toby? She is awesome, incredibly talented, inviting, friendly, and put genius. She has helped me grow out my hair to be able to pull up for the wedding. She has helped me through hair challenges, and the trials and tribulations of planning a wedding. At my wedding, 2 weeks ago, she rocked it, stunning hair in everyone and makeup that was fantastic and lasted all day! She is pure talent!


Not only am I proud to have her as my hairstylist, but going to see her is one of my favorite things to do. Bring in a bottle of wine, or coffee, and we are like best friends! I adore her, and if you could get an appointment with her, or her other stylist, Brie, you will know how awesome these two girls are!

– Amy